Port Charlotte Uninsured Driver Accident Attorney
As road users, we like to believe that other drivers take some degree of responsibility for their actions. Putting aside the fact that another person recently injured you in a crash, one would still like to have a little faith in humanity, and that in these unfortunate circumstances the other party will do their part to make it right. Sadly, this is rarely the case. Even when drivers have insurance, they often lie about what happened to get out of trouble. Just as often, their insurance company lies for them and attempts to devalue the victim’s claim. Yet, one of the worst displays in respect for other road users is revealed when a driver injures another person, only to essentially shrug their shoulders and say, “It’s your problem now.” This is what happens when a driver is uninsured. As a victim of an uninsured motorist collision, your only option is to pursue compensation from your own insurance policy. Our Port Charlotte uninsured driver accident attorneys at Hale Law, P.A. are here to help you navigate through the complex and often frustrating task of dealing with insurance companies.
Florida has a Staggering Number of Uninsured Drivers on the Roads
Florida has the most number of uninsured drivers out of any state in America. The Insurance Journal reported that 26.7% of Florida drivers were uninsured as of 2015, while 19 other states have percentages in the single digits for uninsured drivers. This means that one out of every four drivers near you on the roads are driving without any auto insurance. This means that you have little recourse for seeking compensation if they crash into you. You may be able to personally sue them, but chances are they have little in the way of assets. A judge is unable to kick them out of their primary residence, so even if they own their home outright, it is not likely to be seen as an asset by the court.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
According to the dmvflorida.org, the minimum requirement for legally driving in Florida is:
- $10,000 in Property Damage Liability (PDL); and
- $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP).
Florida drivers are not actually required by law to carry bodily injury liability—a policy that helps victims that they injure. PIP insurance only covers the policyholder, while PDL can only go towards property damage. Only certain drivers with a bad driving history are required to carry bodily injury liability insurance. As such, you first have to exhaust your own PIP insurance when it comes to your damages. Only if your damages exceed your PIP policy can you file a lawsuit. But, if the other driver does not have bodily injury insurance, and has no valuable assets, you may be out of luck. Unless you have uninsured motorist coverage (UM coverage).
Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage is your own insurance policy, and can be used when the other driver was at fault and does not have enough funds to cover your damages. UM coverage works like regular bodily injury liability, and can be used to cover your medical expenses, pain and suffering, lost wages, and more.
Call Our Port Charlotte Uninsured Motorist Lawyers Today
If you were unfortunate enough to be injured in a car wreck by an uninsured motorist, our attorneys understand your frustration, and we can help make you financially whole. Call the personal injury attorneys at Hale Law, P.A. today at 941-735-4529 for a free consultation.