Venice Uninsured Driver Accident Attorney
Under Florida law, all drivers in the state are required to carry minimum liability auto insurance coverage of at least $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and $10,000 in Property Damage Liability (PDL) coverage. Unfortunately, despite this requirement, an alarming number of people continue to drive on Florida roads without insurance. This can leave drivers in a tough spot if they are involved in an accident with an uninsured driver and sustain injuries so severe that their treatment exceeds the cost of their own policy. Individuals who find themselves in this situation do, however, have options, so if you were recently injured in an accident and later discovered that the at-fault driver was uninsured, it is important to contact an experienced Venice uninsured driver accident attorney, who can advise you.
No-Fault Auto Insurance
Florida is a no-fault auto insurance state, which means that motorists who are involved in accidents are usually required to obtain compensation from their own insurers through their PIP and PDL coverage, regardless of who caused the accident. If, however, a person sustains a serious injury or racks up enough accident-related bills to exceed the terms of his or her policy, that individual could step outside of the no-fault system to recover compensation from the other driver’s insurer.
What Will My Insurance Policy Cover After an Accident?
Florida drivers are required to carry a minimum of $10,000 in PIP coverage to reimburse them for the cost of physical injuries sustained in a car accident, as well as $10,000 in PDL insurance to cover property damage losses. These are the policies that injured drivers must look to first after an accident, after which, they can seek compensation through the other driver’s policy. If, however, that person is not insured, the injured party could end up on the hook for other out-of-pocket losses, unless he or she has Uninsured Motorist (UM) coverage, which helps cover accident-related losses after collisions caused by drivers with no insurance.
Those who don’t have UM coverage, or whose UM coverage doesn’t completely cover their losses are not necessarily out of options. In these cases, the injured party could attempt to hold the at-fault and uninsured driver personally liable for accident-related injuries, in which case, the victim will need to provide convincing proof to demonstrate that the defendant owed the plaintiff a duty of care, that he or she failed to fulfill that duty, and as a result of that failure, caused the plaintiff’s losses.
Call Today to Speak With an Experienced Uninsured Driver Accident Lawyer
If you were recently involved in an accident with an uninsured driver and have already exceeded the limits of your own policy, you are undoubtedly feeling frustrated and confused about what to do next. For help, please call the dedicated uninsured driver accident attorneys at Hale Law today. You can reach us at our Venice office by calling 941-735-4529 or by completing one of our online intake forms.